Help with Foam without Krakatoa?.. no idea what to do

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Autodesk 3dsmax
rich0550a1
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:23 pm

Help with Foam without Krakatoa?.. no idea what to do

Postby rich0550a1 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:18 pm

I tried Pflowrealflow birth but the files are too large the load times are horrible. How can i integrate foam in to the render. I was hoping could use Vray VDB loader but there is not a compatible loader file. What do do.


User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3416
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Help with Foam without Krakatoa?.. no idea what to do

Postby ChristianZ » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:38 pm

Yeah, Krakato is a great point-renderer for such tasks. I have it for Cinema4D. But I am afraid that it is a declining product as Thinkbox/Amazon has not made advertising anymore for it and they have not yet decided if they will adapt their C4D-R20 plugin....

Regarding the situation in 3Dsmax I don't know. It is unusual that the import of particle files (rpc I assume) takes so much time. In Maya it is not such a problem to load and render granular sims with several hundred thousand particles. It depends on the render engine and hardware, of course, but I was able to render this animation overnight https://vimeo.com/255597387
RF10 standard + RFC4D

rich0550a1
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:23 pm

Re: Help with Foam without Krakatoa?.. no idea what to do

Postby rich0550a1 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:00 pm

wow that is nice! can you do a test for me? Try dropping some cubes into the sand and see it if explodes or works. Maybe throw me some settings if you get it to work. when i try it the cubes fly off or drop to the bottom.

you know I am thinking the new liquid solvers in 3dsmax might import the realflow foam going to look at that next...

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3416
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Help with Foam without Krakatoa?.. no idea what to do

Postby ChristianZ » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:08 pm

Try dropping some cubes into the sand and see it if explodes or works. Maybe throw me some settings if you get it to work. when i try it the cubes fly off or drop to the bottom.


Ok, I will test some conditions and report back.
RF10 standard + RFC4D


Return to “Autodesk 3dsmax”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests