Holding object shape while animated?

Discussions about the use of Realflow
wyoder

Holding object shape while animated?

Postby wyoder » Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:22 pm

I'm extremely new to RealFlow, in fact i'm still using the demo version to see if I can figure out how to do this before I commit to the purchase, and i'm having trouble finding tutorials for what I need. I have an animated object that, if possible, I need to make completely out of water. Currently i'm just trying to figure out how to do it on the model itself without any animation, but I can't figure out how to get it to retain its shape completely. For this scene in particular, it's a water dragon that flies in and lands, but i'll need to apply the same effect to a few other scenes as well.

So far i've just sort of thrown together some things i've seen across various tutorials. I made a Fill Object emitter using the model as a reference with high Density, and "fill volume" checked, int pressure at 2, ext pressure at 1, viscosity at 1, and surface tension at 2, but when I hit simulate the particles just gradually clump together and some start dripping down, so his wings end up with a lot of holes in them. I found another tutorial that mentioned using the Magic daemon, but it was referring to having the particles switch from forming one shape to another and the settings (escape and approach both set to 50) just caused my model to explode before reforming in a very, very loose outline of the model.

Basically, i'm almost completely in the dark on how to do this, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Oldcode

Re: Holding object shape while animated?

Postby Oldcode » Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:55 pm

Actually, you want to load the object twice.

The first object will be used by the fill emitter to generate the particles in the proper place.

The second object will be set to "Solid Outside". This is the object that will interact with the particles and make them move inside as the object animates and moves.