Different Hubs influencing each other

Discussions about the use of Realflow
Sarford

Different Hubs influencing each other

Postby Sarford » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:22 am

Hey Guys,

Total Realflow noob here. I started a simple project in RF and have been toying with it for a couple of days. I tried several approaches and settled on this one I'm using right now. The idea is to create a jet of liquid going up and then spreading, making a nice circular film (like an umbrella) of which the outer edges drop down with some tendrils and foamy bits.

Like I said, I've done several approaches but in the end I've opted to use two emitters, one for the jet and the film and one emitter for the tendril part. I'm nearly at the result I'm looking for but I ran into this little problem, even though both emitters have their own hub with no connections in between, they still interact with each other. Should it not be that two independent hubs don't influence each other during simulation?

I've added two pictures which shows the problem. When I have both emitters active, the jet of Dy_Domain02 gets deformed by the Splashes domain. When I switch the Splashes domain to cache, Dy_Domain02 gets simulated properly. Notice that there is no connection between the two hubs.
[img]http:www.blinq.net/pictures/Realflow_001.JPG[/img]
[img]http:www.blinq.net/pictures/Realflow_002.JPG[/img]

tsn

Re: Different Hubs influencing each other

Postby tsn » Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:13 am

You're totally right: independet hubs shouldn't interact each other. That's the main purpose. I can't think of a reason for this behaviour right now and had to dig deeper, but there's one thing you might want to check:

There's an icon bar in the releationship editor. Just click on the the 5th icon from the right - "Show implict links" - to see if there are any hidden connections. I don't think so, but it's worth trying.

Sarford

Postby Sarford » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:56 pm

Hi tsn,