Graph Water To Foam ?

Discussions about the use of Realflow
Forester
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:36 am
Contact:

Graph Water To Foam ?

Postby Forester » Sun Oct 08, 2017 2:18 pm

Thomas, would you be willing to provide a simple example of how to transfer water particles to foam particles for a simple Dyverso fountain, using the RF 10 Graph facility? Perhaps in a few posted images here, or on your own website ? Just something simple and very basic.

It would be of general interest here, and would provide a good alternative to the Filter Daemon and to the many Python foam scripts posted (only half of them work now). It might encourage more people to use Graphs - me included.

??????
Windows 7 Pro 64 - Realflow 10.1.2.0162 (Nov 2017 patched) Standard Version


User avatar
tsn
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:36 am

Re: Graph Water To Foam ?

Postby tsn » Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:40 am

Yes, sure. I'll upload a scene with graphs for checking against vorticity and velocity tomorrow.

Forester
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: Graph Water To Foam ?

Postby Forester » Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:38 pm

Great! Thank you, Thomas!
Windows 7 Pro 64 - Realflow 10.1.2.0162 (Nov 2017 patched) Standard Version

User avatar
tsn
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:36 am

Re: Graph Water To Foam ?

Postby tsn » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:07 am

Hey Forester,

Here's a link to a zip archive with a basic 10.1 scene (standard license, can't be loaded with the demo!), the graphs, and a screenshot of the setup and domain settings:

http://bit.ly/2wKQi9K

I normally use DySPH for foam, but of course you can switch to DyPBD as well. The graphs are attached to the Simulation Flow (Ctrl + F2) panel's "FramesPre" section. It's really just a basic graph without randomness. Unfortunately, graphs lack a dedicated random node - something I don't understand at all, since it's absolutely essential. It's possible to fake randomness, but this trick makes the graph rather complex and more difficult to understand, esp. for beginners.

Have fun with the scene ;)

Cheers,
Thomas

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3413
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Graph Water To Foam ?

Postby ChristianZ » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:08 pm

Works like a charm! Thanks Thomas
RF10 standard + RFC4D

Forester
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: Graph Water To Foam ?

Postby Forester » Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:36 pm

Very Cool, Thomas! Thank you so much for these.

For anyone who wants to see the Graphs Thomas made to transfer water particles to foam for a simple pour of water into a cup, here are large images of them.

These are posted in a large form, so that they can be read easily. Just right-click on either of the images to save them and you will get the large version. Thomas has done a wonderful job of commenting these graphs - they are easy to understand.

For Velocity --

Image

For Vorticity --

Image

This is GREAT! I'm off to play with it now!
Windows 7 Pro 64 - Realflow 10.1.2.0162 (Nov 2017 patched) Standard Version

DmitriyYarkov
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 5:49 pm

Re: Graph Water To Foam ?

Postby DmitriyYarkov » Mon Feb 26, 2018 5:53 pm

Hi Thomas,

you mentioned that there is a possibility to make a fake randomness in the graph. How I can do that? My aim is creating splash particles from water, so I need a big number of particles around an every single original particle.
Thank you in advance!

regards,
Dmitry.

User avatar
tsn
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:36 am

Re: Graph Water To Foam ?

Postby tsn » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:11 am

Hi Dmitry,

Yes, it's possible to add randomness, but currently I can't see how this addition should help to get more particles around an existing one. OK, I have a rough idea, but most probably this approach is not what you're looking for. The randomness I was talking about was meant to create ranges in which the particles will be filtered, e.g. between 3 and 5 m/s instead of exactly 4.0 m/s.

I think in your case it's more economic to either use the filter daemon or create the particles at render time - but that's only a solution if you render with Maxwell, because it has this neat Multipoint option where you can create particles on the fly. I remember that I had a scene where I've created huge amounts of particles from a cached simulation with the filter daemon, but I don't know if I still have it. I also think that it required the Binary Loader which doesn't work with Dyverso.


Return to “Realflow”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests