Hybrido export do i need RPC and VDB? both?

Discussions about the use of Realflow
rich0550a1
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:23 pm

Hybrido export do i need RPC and VDB? both?

Postby rich0550a1 » Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:27 pm

Hi

Trying to save disc space. Do need to export RPC and VDB? how about the Hybrido emitter its self does that need to be written to cache too?

lastly does anyone know about particle transport on HY sim options? With a large size sim should it be at 1 or 2 or ??


User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3415
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Hybrido export do i need RPC and VDB? both?

Postby ChristianZ » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:49 pm

Hi

you don't need VDB.
Having said that... hybrido is writing so much data that leaving away one or two elements does not save you a lot of space overall. Better dedicate an entire multi-terabytes hard disc for this purpose....
RF10 standard + RFC4D

User avatar
tsn
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:36 am

Re: Hybrido export do i need RPC and VDB? both?

Postby tsn » Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:45 am

If you want to simulate splashes or foam particles from the Hybrido core fluid then the OpenVDBs are required, because they contain the fluid's distance and velocity fields from which these secondaries will be created.

The individual emitter resources are only needed if you want to render their particles separately, otherwise it's enough to export the domain only.

Particle transport. I assume you're talking about substeps? Once there are objects involved I'd go with at least 2 substeps.

rich0550a1
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:23 pm

Re: Hybrido export do i need RPC and VDB? both?

Postby rich0550a1 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:19 pm

thanks that is what i needed.

rich0550a1
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:23 pm

Re: Hybrido export do i need RPC and VDB? both?

Postby rich0550a1 » Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:39 am

is it possible to sim up to a certain point saving only RPC, to make initial state and then do the sim with writing a RPC and VDB for splashes?

rich0550a1
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:23 pm

Re: Hybrido export do i need RPC and VDB? both?

Postby rich0550a1 » Wed May 09, 2018 3:21 pm

thanks can i create splash and foam from emitter if i leave out VDB export from main sim. VDB export is crashing out sim. Sorry kind of double post but slightly different topic in a way.

edit can i drop out solid velocity, solid distance or any of these something is crashing the save of VBD

rich0550a1
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:23 pm

Re: Hybrido export do i need RPC and VDB? both?

Postby rich0550a1 » Wed May 09, 2018 5:49 pm

sorry managed to spread this over two thread topics. but

looks like VDB compressed works better? seems to be more stable ? why would this be.


Return to “Realflow”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests