How to import soft body in to max?

Discussion about softbody / cloth simulation in Realflow 4
Far Star
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:23 am

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Far Star » Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:28 am

I am not finding any tutorials to follow on how to get a RF 4 soft body simulation into max. I am trying it by using the .sd way but at this point i get the key frames but no simulation is this the bug i am reading about that you are not able to import .sd files with soft bodys into Max.
Any help on this will be greatly appreciated or a link to a tut would be great.
Thank you in advance


shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:38 pm

is this the bug i am reading about that you are not able to import .sd files with soft bodys into Max.

It's possible. Can any max users confirm please?

Shaun

Far Star
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:23 am

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Far Star » Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:17 pm

I dont think so at this time read this thread. I am also finding i cannot import in real wave as well. OHH that is a major set back.

http://www.realflowforum.com/view_topic.php?id=2969

Far Star
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:23 am

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Far Star » Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:33 pm

Ok got the new update and so far I am able to get a softbody simulatioin into max but i have to delet out the orginal model mesh in max to get the new simulatioin of the model in Max. Am i missing something on how to get the simulation to applie to the actual model in the Max project? I thought this is what SD was supposed to do?

User avatar
Mihnea
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:14 am

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Mihnea » Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:26 am

You can't apply the softbody simulation to an existing object. If the object is already in the scene, the plug-in can only create motion keys for it, it can't deform the mesh.

If you delete the object prior to importing the SD, the plug-in will create its own mesh object which is driven by the simulation. This is not a regular Max mesh, it's a new kind of primitive implemented by the plug-in code. The imported mesh should retain the UV coordinates of the original, but unfortunately all materials, smoothing groups and triangle groups will be lost. If the original had modifiers, they are applied on export, so when you import back as a new object it will look as if the modifiers have been collapsed into the mesh (they won't appear in the list anymore).

We will investigate an alternative method of implementing this (as a modifier), but we've chosen the current solution because it was the most robust option for this initial release of the rewritten plug-in.

Far Star
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:23 am

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Far Star » Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:30 pm

Mihnea,
Thank you for the response to my question. This is not ideal but I would rather have to do retexture work on softbody sim than not have softbody at all out of real flow. I am sure Nextlimit will get this small set back for softbody in max worked out in the near future.

Far Star
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:23 am

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Far Star » Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:50 pm

Could some one look into the UV on import on soft body. I dont think the UVs are coming back from real flow on the new imported simulated mesh.
I am not having much luck on my end but then again I may be missing something. Thanks in advance on any help on this.

User avatar
Ls3D
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:44 pm
Contact:

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Ls3D » Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:38 pm

Your right, even objects exported with UV's are coming back without them... there is however a pretty basic workaround - use the channel info to copy them back on from the original export object.

I should add that I imported my .SD after deleting the export geometry, then re-imported the soft body export object to copy off the mapping data - important because of how the new bridge works, already discussed but important.

Here is a screeny of the workaround. Right click view image for actual pixels.



-Shea
Go Outside!
http://3d.shea-design.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/SheaDesign
http://www.facebook.com/sheadesign

Far Star
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:23 am

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Far Star » Fri Aug 01, 2008 4:54 am

Shea,
I am not to up on the texture side of things in max and am not to sure what I am looking at. Could you give a little 101 on this copy past you are talking about?
Did you do a simulation with this soft body translating and rotating and the textures moved with the oject as in keeping there UV coordinates to the object?
What i have been doing is adding a UV modifier to the new object but the texturers will not move with the object its self. I am aure i am just missing simple mapping thing in max on this or am I?

User avatar
Ls3D
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:44 pm
Contact:

How to import soft body in to max?

Postby Ls3D » Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:08 am

Yeah you want to get the mapping from the original object, even a complex skinned character with multiple mapping projections can be 'recovered'... Just find the map channel info under the tools menu, then copy the map channel (and others channels if needed, one at a time) form the re-imported 'original' object, then select the RFsofty, choose the map channel & paste.

Channel info is a powerful option in max, allowing one to unwrap a character that has already been rigged for example, by simply working on a copy and using the copy paste technique.

So yes, I have the soft body with deforming verts, therefore 'sticky' mapping.

-Shea
Go Outside!
http://3d.shea-design.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/SheaDesign
http://www.facebook.com/sheadesign


Return to “RF4: Softbody / cloth simulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest