Bodies go through one another...help please!

Discussions about rigidbody simulation in Realflow 4
bobbbyyy1

Postby bobbbyyy1 » Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:39 am

Hi All,
I'm very new to realflow and am trying to simulate a link chain holding up a box. When i let the program simulate with just the gravity turned on, and no other movements, within a couple of frames, some of the links go through one another and separate and the chain breaks. This happens even quicker when i try to move things around. I have not really changed any values, if that matters. I dont think that it is an issue with me having too few of a poly count, as I have read this may be the cause at some instances, but if im wrong, feel free to correct me. Can someone help me fix this problem??

Here is what i mean by link chain (i'm not sure if I used the correct term for it or not):
http://laminatedtire.com/images/link_chain.jpg

Disclaimer: I don't own the rights to that picture, and am just using it for demonstration!

-Many Thanks

shaun_michael

Postby shaun_michael » Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:22 pm

Try upping your minimum substeps for the sim if you're using adaptive substeps? Is it a rigid body only sim? If so, hit the triangle next to the simulate button and deselect fluid dynamics and leave object dynamics selected. Open the options panel and make sure "fixed substeps" is selected. Now you can up this value until the simulation stabilises?

If this still doesn't work, enable stacking in the same options panel and start increasing the number from 1 to 10. Deselect all but three or so of your links while testing, to speed things up.

Chain links can be done as shown in this scene, but remember,, your 3D app may well be able to do this as well, and as Christian showed in the thread, faster.

Shaun

bobbbyyy1

Postby bobbbyyy1 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:52 am