C++ runtime library

Discussions about rigidbody simulation in Realflow 4
shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

C++ runtime library

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Nov 01, 2009 4:59 pm

God I hate rapidshare. One minute it's telling me I need to be a Premium member to download your file , the next it's telling me to wait.

Yawn :o

Shaun


shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

C++ runtime library

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:14 pm

Woohoo, just got the countdown after 30 or so attempts :)

KFX
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:51 pm

C++ runtime library

Postby KFX » Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:25 pm

LOL ... sorry m:ate for the headache ... there is no doubt they suck...

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

C++ runtime library

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:38 pm

No worries!

OK, so the sim is up and running. XP 64bit, RF 4.3.8.0124, 8GB RAM.

The first thing I've done is delete all your exclusive links. They seem to be replicating one another. As I don't know what you were trying to achieve with regards what was interacting with what, I have everything interacting with everything to give the scene a good shakedown.

The second thing I notice is that you do not have a k_volume daemon surrounding your scene, so I've put one in to delete any stray particles that decide to go at light-speed into the wilderness and eat up your RAM like there was no tomorrow.

Thirdly, I notice that you were running a fixed substep of 10 for the simulation - that's probably the main cause of your woes. The computations are just too inaccurate. So, I've upped it to min zero, max 50, adaptive substeps for the time being just for testing and so far, so good. Fingers crossed.

Shaun

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

C++ runtime library

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:40 pm

Getting roughly two frames a minute with the current set-up.

Shaun

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

C++ runtime library

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:12 pm

OK, I've run half of this through and it seems to be ok. Obviously you'll need to adjust the size of the K_volume bounding box to suit your scene, mine is set up for testing. Hopefully you can transfer this to your scene and get it to work ok.

Scene Files
Quicktime Realflow preview (approx 12MB)

Shaun

KFX
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:51 pm

C++ runtime library

Postby KFX » Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:13 pm

WOW .... the sim runs like speed of light now .....thanks man for your help .... you guys really should charge for your instructions ...... HELL NOO: ... JUST KIDDIN ... lol

I will definitely give you guys more headache if I have any more question..:)


Return to “RF4: Rigidbody simulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest