Fileter Daemon and viscosity

User avatar
octavio
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:05 am
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby octavio » Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:14 am

hi,

am using the filter daemon to try to change one fluid with a viscosity of 20 to one with a viscosity of 300, the Container emitter inherits the value of 20 always.

is there a workaround ? i tried it on a fresh scene in case mine was corrupt, but i got the same results.

also tried using and age condition/ collision/condition etc...the container emitter inherits, it seems the properties of the original emitter.

:mad2::mad2::mad2::mad2:

is there a way to make it work? this sort of defeats the purpose and functionality of the filter daemon.


User avatar
bitSeq
Posts: 1044
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: UK - Stuart Armiger
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby bitSeq » Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:51 am

Instead of using a container use a circle emitter and set the speed to 0

Anaxarchos
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:21 pm
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby Anaxarchos » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:22 am

Unforunately, the filter deamon is not capable for this workflow, some values (visc is one of them) of the target emitters are just overridden. I had the very same problem a while ago. You can only help yourself by shifting the particles between emitters in the old- school RF4 way, by a Python script.
www.fk-fx.com

User avatar
bitSeq
Posts: 1044
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: UK - Stuart Armiger
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby bitSeq » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:45 am

I didnt know that!

Well then the other way to do it without scripting would be to use the free HotNcold plugin

CANCANGOR
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:11 pm
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby CANCANGOR » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:57 pm

are you guys shure that it doesnt work? because i had the EXACT same problem with Viscosity and i am using the FÄ°lter deamon right now. Works perfectly for me...

I created two Square emitters. all settings exactly the same. one has a viscosity of 200 the other one 50.

I used Age as a trigger .

User avatar
bitSeq
Posts: 1044
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: UK - Stuart Armiger
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby bitSeq » Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:13 pm

CANCANGOR wrote: are you guys shure that it doesnt work? because i had the EXACT same problem with Viscosity and i am using the FÄ°lter deamon right now. Works perfectly for me...

I created two Square emitters. all settings exactly the same. one has a viscosity of 200 the other one 50.

I used Age as a trigger .

I have just tested that exact setup in version 5.0.3.0190 and it does not work.

User avatar
bitSeq
Posts: 1044
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: UK - Stuart Armiger
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby bitSeq » Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:25 pm

There must be a work around for this.

Tried passing them over to dumb particles and then back to liquid and still the viscosity carries over from the original emitter.

CANCANGOR
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:11 pm
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby CANCANGOR » Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:43 pm

bitSeq wrote: [quote=CANCANGOR]are you guys shure that it doesnt work? because i had the EXACT same problem with Viscosity and i am using the FÄ°lter deamon right now. Works perfectly for me...

I created two Square emitters. all settings exactly the same. one has a viscosity of 200 the other one 50.

I used Age as a trigger .

I have just tested that exact setup in version 5.0.3.0190 and it does not work.[/quote]
Why does it work here then? :S

i moved on to a different setup now. when this is finished i will post the exact settings and how i did it so we can compare. The difference between my viscosity settings is pretty high so i gues i would notice it if it did not work.

User avatar
octavio
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:05 am
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby octavio » Fri Jul 22, 2011 1:55 am

tried using a Circle emitter instead of a container one, it still doesnt work.

even tried using two filters but no luck.

will have to learn some python then :o

User avatar
bitSeq
Posts: 1044
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: UK - Stuart Armiger
Contact:

Fileter Daemon and viscosity

Postby bitSeq » Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:10 am

This Script will be easy enough to modify to work with your scene.


Return to “RF5: Fluid simulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest