Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Nizan
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:21 am

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby Nizan » Sun May 22, 2011 10:13 am

Hi all,

I don't have much experience with Hybrido, but it seems the spalsh simulation is going VERY slowly. My setup is - a domain with a 5M resolution, and in each frame there are about 2000-3000 splash particles going around (with a very low resolution - 20). Each frame takes about 10-15 min on an intel i7. Is that normal?

Some thoughts I have regarding this -
1. My geometry is a plane with ~6000 polygons. Would that slow things down considerably?
2. For some reason, after frame 4, the yellow line which indicates a cached simulation on the time line disappears. I first thought that maybe the grid fluid cache was erased, but when I simulate it in cached mode, it goes fast - which indicates the cache is intact..

Would any of these be the reason?

Thanks! :)

Nizan.


Nizan
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:21 am

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby Nizan » Sun May 22, 2011 10:17 am

Btw, I'm working with a small max-timestep as well - 75..

Nizan
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:21 am

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby Nizan » Mon May 23, 2011 10:55 am

Could be a problem of a too-low res. of the domain fluid?
Anyone?

saka
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:53 am
Contact:

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby saka » Tue May 24, 2011 9:18 am

Hi,
I think that ,
FluidSplash is slow on HYBRIDO ,because splash is particle system nased on particle base not grid base.
Grid base is veri fast but Particle base is not fast.It's HYBRID.
I hope to be faster splash system,I am too.

Nizan
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:21 am

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby Nizan » Tue May 24, 2011 11:57 am

Yeah, but normal particles don't usually take that long to simulate on my machine.. Weird. I think I'll just increase the overall grid-fluid resolution, and decrease the splash's. Or even use dumb particles for it..

Anaxarchos
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:21 pm
Contact:

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby Anaxarchos » Tue May 24, 2011 3:35 pm

10 - 15 minutes is not normal, it seems like there is something else going nots in your scene. Would you mind posting a screenshot?
www.fk-fx.com

Nizan
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:21 am

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby Nizan » Wed May 25, 2011 10:57 am

Sure, but what specifically would you want me to show on the right menu? The grid fluid, splash particles or something else?

Thanks!

User avatar
bitSeq
Posts: 1044
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: UK - Stuart Armiger
Contact:

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby bitSeq » Wed May 25, 2011 11:18 am

Are you simulating the core grid fluid and the splashes at the same time? This can cause long sim times.

You should sim the core first then set it to Cache and then run the simulation again for the splashes.

Check these turorials http://www.youtube.com/user/hdlect

Nizan
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:21 am

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby Nizan » Wed May 25, 2011 6:49 pm

Hi,
My grid-fluid is already cached :
I'll post a screen-shot in a few mins..

Thanks!

Nizan
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:21 am

Hybrido splash particles excruciatingly slow

Postby Nizan » Wed May 25, 2011 7:49 pm

Here's a link to a screen shot :

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/155/waterscene.png/

Some other relevant data :
Splash particles :
Resolution : 10
Surface tension : 4
Emission rate : 30
Detail threshold : 0.1
Everything else : default.

I'm exporting the .gdc's for the domain and the .bin's for the emitter..

Thanks!


Return to “RF5: Fluid simulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest