Thicker Liquid

joebloggs
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:25 pm

Thicker Liquid

Postby joebloggs » Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:26 pm

Other than viscosity,what else would i use to make my liquid thicker.
I did 2 simulations and builds.
The first
For simulation-Viscosity was at 50.
Built it at 75,came out quite well,but i wanted it thicker.
The second
For simulation-viscosity was at 75.
Buiit at 100,only it didnt look any thicker.
So other than the viscosity,what else could i use to make it thicker?


User avatar
bitSeq
Posts: 1044
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: UK - Stuart Armiger
Contact:

Thicker Liquid

Postby bitSeq » Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:25 pm

Try a number like 300 for viscosity but put your min and max sub steps up too

joebloggs
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:25 pm

Thicker Liquid

Postby joebloggs » Wed Apr 27, 2011 7:19 pm

Could you give me an idea of what steps figures I should be using with a viscosity of 300,thanks.

lukeiamyourfather
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:09 pm
Contact:

Thicker Liquid

Postby lukeiamyourfather » Wed Apr 27, 2011 7:37 pm

joebloggs wrote: Could you give me an idea of what steps figures I should be using with a viscosity of 300,thanks.

A lot, like hundreds. If it crashes or blows up then use more. Use fixed substeps and disable any surface tension.

joebloggs
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:25 pm

Thicker Liquid

Postby joebloggs » Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:56 pm

Lol,i only increased the min from 1 to 3.
Its simulating now,looks thicker,will let you know,thanks.

joebloggs
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:25 pm

Thicker Liquid

Postby joebloggs » Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:13 pm

Its 90 frames,its at 80 frames now building but i noticed,that the liquid has broke off from the emitter,any idea to fix that.

lukeiamyourfather
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:09 pm
Contact:

Thicker Liquid

Postby lukeiamyourfather » Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:25 pm

joebloggs wrote: Its 90 frames,its at 80 frames now building but i noticed,that the liquid has broke off from the emitter,any idea to fix that.

Image? I don't really understand what you mean.

joebloggs
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:25 pm

Thicker Liquid

Postby joebloggs » Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:24 am

I mean,as the liquid is coming down,near to the top,the liquid has broke of,so it dosent look like one solid piece.
The viscosity is now at 300 but the steps,I only altered the min from 1 to 3
The max was at 333,so I never touched that.
Will post an image when I finish work.

User avatar
bitSeq
Posts: 1044
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: UK - Stuart Armiger
Contact:

Thicker Liquid

Postby bitSeq » Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:48 am

Your substeps should be fine at those numbers for now, if you start to get poping and exploding particles then just raise the minimum again.

It is probably because you are not emitting the particles fast enough and gravity is pulkling them down faster. Try increasing the speed on the emitter.

joebloggs
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:25 pm

Thicker Liquid

Postby joebloggs » Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:48 pm

Thanks m8,but i have to have the speed fairly slow,otherwise when i export it back into c4d to render,the liquid will come down to fast,and i need it to come down slow on the finished product.
I will increase it from 3 to 10,see what happens.


Return to “RF5: Fluid simulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest