Page 1 of 1

Scene file compatibility Win/Mac other computer

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 9:13 am
by Fabian
Hi guys,

i have a question about the scene file compatibility between Windows and Mac.

If i do a simulation with my mac and i send the files to a windows-guy. Will he have the exact same result as i do ?

Or is there any kind of random seed, that will produce a different result ?

Thanks and cheers,

Fabian

Scene file compatibility Win/Mac other computer

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:05 pm
by shaun_michael
As far as I'm aware, yes, they should. I've run sims on PC that originated on Mac without any noticable problems.

It would be worth doing a very smale-scale test though for your own peace of mind.

Shaun

Scene file compatibility Win/Mac other computer

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:17 pm
by ChristianZ
shaun_michael wrote: As far as I'm aware, yes, he should. I've run sims on PC that originated on Mac without any noticable problems.

I can confirm that in the other direction.
But there will be a small difference in each repeated run of the simulation regardless if done on Mac on PC.