Scene file compatibility Win/Mac other computer

Fabian
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:42 am

Scene file compatibility Win/Mac other computer

Postby Fabian » Wed Mar 03, 2010 9:13 am

Hi guys,

i have a question about the scene file compatibility between Windows and Mac.

If i do a simulation with my mac and i send the files to a windows-guy. Will he have the exact same result as i do ?

Or is there any kind of random seed, that will produce a different result ?

Thanks and cheers,

Fabian


shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

Scene file compatibility Win/Mac other computer

Postby shaun_michael » Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:05 pm

As far as I'm aware, yes, they should. I've run sims on PC that originated on Mac without any noticable problems.

It would be worth doing a very smale-scale test though for your own peace of mind.

Shaun

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3258
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Scene file compatibility Win/Mac other computer

Postby ChristianZ » Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:17 pm

shaun_michael wrote: As far as I'm aware, yes, he should. I've run sims on PC that originated on Mac without any noticable problems.

I can confirm that in the other direction.
But there will be a small difference in each repeated run of the simulation regardless if done on Mac on PC.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM


Return to “RF4: General topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest