How to correct for staccato emission with fast moving emitters?

Discussion about fluid simulation in Realflow 4
User avatar
deckard
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:46 am

How to correct for staccato emission with fast moving emitters?

Postby deckard » Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:41 am

The faster an emitter moves, the wider the gaps in the stream of particles. How do you correct this? Increasing step values is not having any effect. A higher random value can smear out the particles to cover the gaps but that results in an undesirable spreading out of the particles.


User avatar
deckard
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:46 am

How to correct for staccato emission with fast moving emitters?

Postby deckard » Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:42 am

I think I figured it out. My emitter is parented to an animated object that was imported from an SD file out of Lightwave. The Nextlimit SD scan/export has no subframe calculation. This is a real problem.

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3278
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

How to correct for staccato emission with fast moving emitters?

Postby ChristianZ » Sun Oct 09, 2011 10:41 am

I think that is a general difficulty of moving emitters, even inside your 3D-program (thinking particles inside my Cinema4D also has no subframe emission for example). So, the animation needs to be play at higher fps to begin with.
Or maybe the retimer in RF2012 can help with that ?
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

Anaxarchos
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:21 pm
Contact:

How to correct for staccato emission with fast moving emitters?

Postby Anaxarchos » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:23 pm

Sometimes bringing out the big hammer helps...more emission speed.
www.fk-fx.com


Return to “RF4: Fluid simulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest