Foam tutorial... step by step for someone new to RF4

Discussion about fluid simulation in Realflow 4
FloydBishop

Postby FloydBishop » Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:26 pm

Hello,

I'm wondering if someone could go through step by step as to how to successfully use a script such as this one: http://www.nextlimit.com/nlscript/scripts/mediumbeerfoam_1939.rfs

I'm new to RF4 (I've been a RF user for quite some time though) and I'm not getting any results even close to what is expected.

Maybe I'm not loading the script correctly? Maybe I don't have my emitters set up correctly prior to running the script?

I've downloaded the trial of RF4, as I've given up trying to get foam to work in RF3.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

tsn

Postby tsn » Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:33 pm

What´s your problem in detail? Isn´t the script running at all or don´t you only like the results? Don´t you know where to load/use the script or is it about emitter setup? I need a few more information about this.

FloydBishop

Postby FloydBishop » Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:07 pm

Well, I think the script is running, but I don't see any difference at all in the pre or post simulations. I don't get any results that are different from before I ran the script.

I've found the place to load and use the script, but maybe the problem is in my set-up prior to running the script? I'm sure it's user error here and not anything with RF.

shaun_michael

Postby shaun_michael » Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:18 pm

I think this line:-

Code: Select all

FVelThreshold = 1.0 # Max velocity of foam particles (Raising value = more foam particles staying)

Should read:-

FVelThreshold = 1.0 # Min velocity of foam particles (Minimum velocity particle should have to stay as foam particle.  Other wise it meets one of the two conditions to turn to fluid inside liquid2)

Put a low value in for LVelThreshold, say 0.3. This is the minimum velocity after collision that dictates whether the liquid particle will turn into a foam particle.