Page 1 of 1

Real flow not using all CPU's

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:06 pm
by Rafi
Anyone have the same problem with more than one processor? Real flow using only one (48 threads) from four in my workstation

Re: Real flow not using all CPU's

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 5:54 pm
by ChristianZ
Yep, that has been observed many times. In contrast to rendering applications, physics simulations will not use all cores. Also to be considered, splitting tasks in many threads may actually reduce the overall execution of the simulation because it creates overhead. The best hardware for realflow is a few cores, but high clock speed.

Re: Real flow not using all CPU's

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:08 pm
by Rafi
it looks weak...

Re: Real flow not using all CPU's

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 11:12 am
by ChristianZ
I agree. But the trend seems rather to move the entire simulation to the GPU (dyverso solver) instead of better use of more CPU cores. The hardware of a GPU is better optimized for parallel processing than the CPU with relatively remote RAM.