Real flow not using all CPU's

Describe your realflow bugs
Rafi
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:00 pm

Real flow not using all CPU's

Postby Rafi » Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:06 pm

Anyone have the same problem with more than one processor? Real flow using only one (48 threads) from four in my workstation


User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: Real flow not using all CPU's

Postby ChristianZ » Thu Oct 06, 2016 5:54 pm

Yep, that has been observed many times. In contrast to rendering applications, physics simulations will not use all cores. Also to be considered, splitting tasks in many threads may actually reduce the overall execution of the simulation because it creates overhead. The best hardware for realflow is a few cores, but high clock speed.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

Rafi
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:00 pm

Re: Real flow not using all CPU's

Postby Rafi » Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:08 pm

it looks weak...
Attachments
2.jpg
2.jpg (148.51 KiB) Viewed 697 times

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: Real flow not using all CPU's

Postby ChristianZ » Sat Oct 08, 2016 11:12 am

I agree. But the trend seems rather to move the entire simulation to the GPU (dyverso solver) instead of better use of more CPU cores. The hardware of a GPU is better optimized for parallel processing than the CPU with relatively remote RAM.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM


Return to “Realflow bug report”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest