The Flying Water Spout

Show us your Realflow WIPs
cpthomas

The Flying Water Spout

Postby cpthomas » Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:31 pm

Hi Everyone!

I'm brand new to the forum, and this is my first project using Realflow.. so bear with me. :)

I'm using a spline emitter to create the effect of a "flying water stream" which travels through the air. This is reminiscant of a Sony Ericsson ad that I saw a few years ago, but can't seem to find again. But I think I've got a handle on how it should look.

Anyway, my water stream is looking a bit meta-bally, and not like water. Reading old posts, I began thinking that it has to do with scale, but I'm not sure how to remedy the situation. I want there to be little droplets of water flying around, not these big lumpy balls.... here are my settings for the spline emitter:

Resolution: 1.0
Density: 1000.0
Int. Pressure 0.004
Ext. Pressure 1.0
Viscosity 3.0
Surface Tension 5.0
Interpolation: Local
Max Particles: 100000

My Mesh settings are:

Type: Metaballs
Polygon size: 0.06

Any help would be much appreciated! I'll keep posting as I get further... I've got an okay handle on using the spline emitter (for a morning's worth of learning, at least!), so once the water looks good, I think the spot will come togther.

Thank you so much!!

My best,
Chris

Here's a link to my test movie: walltowall.com/hawaii/streamTest.mov
And a screenshot of my Realflow workspace: walltowall.com/hawaii/Realflow_SC.jpg

PS. Also, notice in the movie that the water begins to break apart and spin off at the end.. I have a feeling that had I let the move render more, it would have spun out of control. Any thoughts? Maybe seeing my Realflow workspace will give someone an idea of what's happening.

I should also note that each node in my scene has an axial speed that increases by one, so that the water gets increasingly faster.

Thank you!!

ENSLAVER

The Flying Water Spout

Postby ENSLAVER » Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:21 pm