Sand/salt simulation

Show us your Realflow WIPs
Tiazz

Sand/salt simulation

Postby Tiazz » Tue Oct 27, 2015 4:19 pm

Hello guys, I'm new in 3D sims, but for this work i need to use Realflow, I guess.
Here what I need:
I have to simulate a salt dispenser on a truck (i will make trasparency in 3ds max), that will mix the salt before spreading it out on the street;
I have to simulate also a dump track with a open-box bed full of sand and little debris, that when is up and open will let fall off the sand/debris on the street.

Okay, i know that we haven't already some sand/granular solver in RF (the Sandy Plugin is not affordable for me also because I would use it only for this work).
I tried to use some liquid solver, but I cannot change mesh/emitter properties to looks like sand or salt.

Here my solution, maybe I can simulate with a viscous liquid the salt in the truck, maybe using a displacement/bump map in 3ds max, and then for the spread on the street i can try with particle flow inside 3ds max.
For the second simulation, i could work with liquid solver in RF and then add some little debris with mass fx and maybe some particle emitter to generate some sand.

My question is: this workflow it's ok? do you have something better/easier to suggest me? would this workflows generate some good or discrete results or am i wasting time?

I will follow some RF tutorial now, by the why i have already a question about Realflow:
I want to use the emitter "fill object" to fill my trucks with "liquids" created inside a box, but how can i let the box disappear and let the liquid fill my trucks, ready for the simulations?

Thank you so much guys, hope you could help me
and sorry for my poor english :)
I'm waiting for you, Realflow experts!

ChristianZ

Re: Sand/salt simulation

Postby ChristianZ » Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:36 pm

Hi