Rigid body creation ?

Discussion about scripting with Python
hardin

Rigid body creation ?

Postby hardin » Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:41 pm

I've been using Realflow for several years. I'm just getting into Rigid Bodies.
To make a long question short, Can I use Python to create one or more Rigid Bodies with initial velocity vectors?

More detail:
Right now, I can stack up a couple thousand 'lumps of coal' (rigid bodies) and drop them down a chute. It looks and works great! I'm impressed. But, I really need to launch these lumps of coal off the end of a conveyor belt into some chute work. So, I'm thinking I can use Python (once I learn it) to create lumps of coal with velocity vectors to simulate coal flying off the end of a conveyor belt. Basically, I want to create my own emitter that emits rigid bodies.

Can this be done or is there an easier way by using existing RealFlow features?

Lyle.

hardin

Rigid body creation ?

Postby hardin » Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:38 pm

With my scripting, I'm able to create objects in the realflow scene. I can change them to Active rigid bodies. But, in the RealFlow 2012 manual, on page 318, it says I can't use the setVelocity on Objects. I take it, that setVelocity is only for particles. So, am I able to set these object in motion with some other means? I feel like I'm so close!....

bolek

Rigid body creation ?

Postby bolek » Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:39 am

Welcome hardin.

So... answering to your first question.

Can I use Python to create one or more Rigid Bodies with initial velocity vectors? - yes you can.

But I suppose you are not very familiar with python (... So, I'm thinking I can use Python (once I learn it) ... ) so you should do it other way.

Anyway it's not good example to start study python... in my opinion writting simple scripts at the very beginning of learning is better because it gives you more self-confidence.

My way of thinking - If you can not swim do not jump into deep water.