Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Discussions about the use of Realflow's Renderkit
kaeyous
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:10 pm

Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Postby kaeyous » Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:25 pm

Hello all:
I am having a problem, please help me if you can.

Whenever I import a .bin sequence of particles through the renderkit it imports fine (I can see the particles in the viewport) but when I hit the render button it stays at 0%. My computer is not allocating any cpu usage to maya what leads me to believe that the crash happens as soon as the button is hit and it doesn't even try to render.

This is the same if I import through particler, mesher or hybrido mesher.

I tried this with a small simulation to make sure is not a memory problem.

Am I supposed to create a renderkit mesh while in realfow? Or just the particles are enough so they are meshed at render time? if so, is there a way to optimize the memory usage? I am trying to mesh something in RF and it never finishes the cpu usage is at 5%!!

Lastly, the renderkit version is 2013 but the RF GUI I'm working on is 2012. Could that be a reason why it is not working?

Thank you in advance.


User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3258
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Postby ChristianZ » Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:05 pm

Lastly, the renderkit version is 2013 but the RF GUI I'm working on is 2012. Could that be a reason why it is not working?


That might depend on what kind of data you want to render.

You can optimize the meshing process in RF by using the command line version of RF.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

kaeyous
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Postby kaeyous » Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:18 pm

ChristianZ wrote:That might depend on what kind of data you want to render.


Hello Christian. I am trying to render particles .bin extension.

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3258
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Postby ChristianZ » Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:24 pm

It should work, in principle.

My biggest challenge with the render kit in Maya was the license manager. But if there is a problem with the license then you even don't see the particles in the viewport.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

kaeyous
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Postby kaeyous » Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:39 pm

license is good. Without it, the render finishes without particles in it. Once the license starts, render stays at 0%

Snsob
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:47 pm

Re: Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Postby Snsob » Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:37 pm

I am having the same issue using both realflow 2013 and maya 2014. If I hit render in mental ray it sits at 0% and if I hit the show mesh in the display options it crashes. I am using rpc instead of bin but I have the same issue if I try and import my bin foam files under the cloud part of rfrk. I know its not much help but hey your not alone!

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3258
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Postby ChristianZ » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:25 pm

And what does the local webpage say ? Are there errors mentioned ?
http://localhost:2226/
http://127.0.0.1:2226/

http://support.nextlimit.com/display/rf ... stallation
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

Snsob
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:47 pm

Re: Renderkit crashing in MentalRay for Maya2014

Postby Snsob » Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:03 pm

kk got it working for some reason it wiped my licenses when I restarted my comp (silly large network machines) but I got the licences fixed and detecting other than the node one which is still broken. I still find it odd that if the license manager wasnt detecting licenses why would it load up the particles at all or not throw an error.


Return to “RealFlow Renderkit”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest