Meshes not importing

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Lightwave
euge04
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:09 pm

Meshes not importing

Postby euge04 » Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:14 pm

Hello-

I purchased the learning edition for Realflow. I created a simple fluid animation and rendered out the .bin mesh files. When I try and import them into Lightwave I just get an empty null. The plugin lists no faces or vertices.

What might I be doing wrong?


User avatar
Oldcode
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:28 pm

Re: Meshes not importing

Postby Oldcode » Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:02 pm

When you say "rendered out the .bin mesh files" do you mean created the meshes?

When you added the mesh node, did you make sure it said "Build" in your mesh properties?

Try these basic steps...

1. In the Surface Editor of Lightwave, create a surface (color and textures) you want the fluid to look like. Give it a name and save it as a *.SRF file.

2. Use Ctrl-Q to get to the Master Plugin window and add the RF Plug-In Manager.

3. Go to the Mesh Import Tab like the picture below

4. Use the File Path button to find your sequence of meshes.

5. Then use the Add button to bring up the Mesh Importer Window.

6. Check the box for Custom Surface

7. Click the Surface button I've circled in Red, and find the Surface *. SRF file you made earlier.

8. Move to a new frame to see the texture applied and that should do it.

Good Luck,
Attachments
Mesh Import.jpg
Mesh Import.jpg (49.11 KiB) Viewed 1779 times
Mesh Importer.jpg
Mesh Importer.jpg (45.71 KiB) Viewed 1779 times
"My sword and my service are yours."

"Then forever remind him of his vow, Knight of the Old Code."

euge04
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:09 pm

Re: Meshes not importing

Postby euge04 » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:45 am

Ah. Adding the surface is what I needed. Thanks.

So it looks like I can't edit the surface once it's in Lightwave like you would any other surface. I have to edit the surface, save it and then apply it with the plugin. Is that the correct way to do it?

Thanks so much. I was banging my head on that one.

User avatar
Oldcode
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:28 pm

Re: Meshes not importing

Postby Oldcode » Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:25 am

euge04 wrote: I have to edit the surface, save it and then apply it with the plugin. Is that the correct way to do it?.


Yes, that's the way. If you like, export a single frame of your mesh as a LWO or an OBJ and then bring it into Modeler. You can experiment with surfaces until you get one you like.

Good Luck,
"My sword and my service are yours."

"Then forever remind him of his vow, Knight of the Old Code."


Return to “Lightwave”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest