Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Lightwave
User avatar
electroplated
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:17 am

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby electroplated » Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:18 am

Hello all i have imported a mesh that i created in realflow into lightwave layout and i wish to apply a serface and smoothing.

but when i do this for each frame the name of the mesh changes and the surface resets as if i dident set it at all does anyone know how i can fix this?

thank you
your only limit is your own imagination.


User avatar
Otuama
Posts: 1155
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:56 am
Location: Swansea
Contact:

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby Otuama » Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:47 am

Hi. This would need to be done in Realflow.

Meshes are saved as separate files each frame.

When you import a mesh animation into a 3D app, what you're essentially doing is importing an image sequence.

So, smoothing 1 frame will have no effect on the other.

In Realflow, select the mesh node and turn on 'Filter' in the Filter tab. This relaxes/smooths the mesh.

-Sean
iCreate Ltd
'Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.' - Gandhi
'What Does Success Look Like?' - iCreate Ltd

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby ChristianZ » Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:45 am

It also depends on the 3D-app. In Cinema4D, for example, we can also attach deformers and modifiers to the imported mesh, which distort it in each frame automatically or reduces polygons and such. But I know nothing about LW.
RF10 standard + RFC4D

User avatar
Otuama
Posts: 1155
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:56 am
Location: Swansea
Contact:

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby Otuama » Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:54 am

That sounds interesting. Can you do that in Maya?
iCreate Ltd
'Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.' - Gandhi
'What Does Success Look Like?' - iCreate Ltd

Anaxarchos
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:21 pm
Contact:

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby Anaxarchos » Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:44 pm

Of course you can. Deforming Meshes using e.g. a Lattice in Maya is a very popular one, for example.
www.fk-fx.com

User avatar
Otuama
Posts: 1155
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:56 am
Location: Swansea
Contact:

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby Otuama » Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:59 pm

And that carries through all the meshes frames or would you have to apply it each frame?
iCreate Ltd
'Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.' - Gandhi
'What Does Success Look Like?' - iCreate Ltd

User avatar
Otuama
Posts: 1155
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:56 am
Location: Swansea
Contact:

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby Otuama » Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:09 pm

Ah, I assume you apply it to the mesh shape node...... or something. Will have to give it a try sometime.
iCreate Ltd
'Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.' - Gandhi
'What Does Success Look Like?' - iCreate Ltd

User avatar
electroplated
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:17 am

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby electroplated » Fri Dec 02, 2011 5:47 am

In lightwave the way textureing works is based on the object itself and its name and when you change frame the mesh changes file and gets a new name this is the problem i am having not just smoothing with making it look like water to it resents to default on each fram onley applyed to the mes number eg. ParticleMesh_ST01_00000 and i would have to set if for each frame there must be a way of doing it to all the mesh files at once?
your only limit is your own imagination.

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby ChristianZ » Fri Dec 02, 2011 6:19 am

In this case it is probably better for you to optimize the mesh settings inside RF.

Did you see this topic regarding texturing:
http://www.realflowforum.com/view_topic.php?id=8539
RF10 standard + RFC4D

Jkenko
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 6:51 am

Smoth a mesh over the corse of an animation.

Postby Jkenko » Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:06 pm

Guys, in LW it's pretty normal to smooth the surface in shading. It just smooths the normals prior to rendering. I guess he's having the notorious problem of the LW plugin not refreshing the surfacing at all. And there's a lot of threads on that...


Return to “Lightwave”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest