Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Lightwave
Imatk
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:54 pm

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby Imatk » Sat Feb 20, 2010 11:35 pm

How do I do this??

I followed the instructions, exported the .bin sequence and imported with RF Particle Importer and all I get is a NULL with no particles.

Thanks for any help.


shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:36 am

You're not trying to import mesh .bin files by any chance are you? The plugin only imports particle bin files, not mesh bin files, as particles inside Lightwave. If you're trying to import meshes, use the mesh import and select your mesh .bin files.

Shaun

Imatk
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:54 pm

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby Imatk » Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:57 pm

I have a RW_Splash emitter and am exporting the .bin files from the splash emitter.

I don't have a mesh in the scene at all.

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Feb 21, 2010 9:40 pm

OK, there's no reason why that version of the plugin shouldn't import the particles. Have you removed all traces of the old plugin before installing?

Can you post a .bin file or two for me to look at?

Shaun

Imatk
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:54 pm

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby Imatk » Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:29 pm

I can post something up later this evening, I'm not at my home workstation right now.

I didn't have a previous plugin installed. This is a fresh install of Realflow on a new PC.

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby shaun_michael » Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:34 am

I didn't have a previous plugin installed

I assume you know I meant Lightwave, but I also assume it was a new install of LW also?

I'll wait until you post up a couple of bin files - they only need to be really small, testable ones.

Shaun

Imatk
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:54 pm

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby Imatk » Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:52 pm

Yes it's a new install of everything, it's a new computer.

Here are the bin files.

http://www.samjam.com/3D/bin.zip

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3416
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH
Contact:

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby ChristianZ » Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:33 am

Imatk wrote: Yes it's a new install of everything, it's a new computer.

Here are the bin files.

http://www.samjam.com/3D/bin.zip

These are mesh-bin's, not particle-bin's.
RF10 standard + RFC4D

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby shaun_michael » Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:31 pm

These bin files are all 1K on disk - there's no info in them at all. How are you exporting from Realflow? I've checked the plugin and all is working as expected with both mesh and particle bin files, when they do actually contain info.

Perhaps you can upload your scene and I can simulate some frames from it? If you do upload it, please ensure that you include an sd file that you're using in the archive.

Shaun

Imatk
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:54 pm

Import Particles from BIN into LIGHTWAVE Using Realflow 4.3.8

Postby Imatk » Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:07 pm

I'm exporting them from export central, but export central already has .bin files check to export.

The only thing I can get to import into lightwave are meshes which again I use export central to export them.

Is there some other way of exporting bin files from realflow??


Return to “Lightwave”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest