how to render 24fps scene+simulation to 50fps

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Lightwave
User avatar
Soth3d
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:59 pm

how to render 24fps scene+simulation to 50fps

Postby Soth3d » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:48 am

Hi,
I am thinking about that for couple days now... and still no idea what is the best way to do it...
Cheers
Tomek
Oh, Lord, Please Don't Burn Us
HP Z800 | 6GB RAM | 2x Xeon W5580 3.2Ghz | ATI 4870


User avatar
tmdag
Posts: 1023
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

how to render 24fps scene+simulation to 50fps

Postby tmdag » Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:52 am

I don't quite understand what You want to achieve. You want to remap final simulation ?
"Do not feed the trolls"
Albert 'tmdag' Szostkiewicz
FX Technical Director
Weta Digital

User avatar
Soth3d
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:59 pm

how to render 24fps scene+simulation to 50fps

Postby Soth3d » Tue Feb 09, 2010 2:06 pm

No, I do have 24fps simulation and the scene, I cannot just change the fps setting in LW cose I have one mesh per frame linked via object replacement. I do have all motion data in the objects... so I just want to render scene in better quality.

But I cannot find out what is the way to do it... any way. ;)

There is even function in LW render 24fps to NTSC (30fps) but, well is not very flexible. :)
Cheers
Tomek
Oh, Lord, Please Don't Burn Us
HP Z800 | 6GB RAM | 2x Xeon W5580 3.2Ghz | ATI 4870

lukeiamyourfather
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:09 pm
Contact:

how to render 24fps scene+simulation to 50fps

Postby lukeiamyourfather » Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:59 pm

Stretch out the keys in the curve editor for the Lightwave stuff and then resample the cache of particles in RealFlow with a BIN loader. Would 48 FPS be close enough (since BIN loader does only integer)? Then mesh the new particle cache and import that into Lightwave. If that doesn't look good enough then you'll probably have to simulate again with the correct FPS to start with, or use Python or a tool like Houdini to resample the particle cache with more accuracy and flexibility. Cheers!


Return to “Lightwave”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest