New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Lightwave
vbk!!!
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:59 am
Contact:

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby vbk!!! » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:13 pm

There is a announcement of new plug for lightwave at realflow.com
But there is nothing new on plug page.
Can anyone tell us about that ?

[mod edit - just modified the title slightly to avoid multiple threads on this]


shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby shaun_michael » Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:25 pm

You'll need to go to the downloads page as usual, not the link directly from the Realflow homepage. Make sure you download the user guide too. The file is marked 17 September 2009.

If and when you do download, can you confirm something for me before I drop NL a line. When I extract the 32bit plugin, I get a 1KB file that, as you'd expect, doesn't install. The 64 bit file seems to be working as expected (although I've not used it extensively as of yet).

Shaun

vbk!!!
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:59 am
Contact:

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby vbk!!! » Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:56 pm

ok i just donwloaded it
No 32bit version available.
Seems to be ok with the 64 bit

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby shaun_michael » Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:05 pm

OK, thanks for letting me know. I'll inform NL. I also notice that it still doesn't F10 meshes that need pre-processing, such as those with a SSS node applied. First frame fine, F9 fine, not F10 after the first frame. I assume that this might have something to do with Lightwave more than the plugin, but we'll see.

Shaun

vbk!!!
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:59 am
Contact:

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby vbk!!! » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:31 am

did you try the 64 bit version.
it is really unstable on my LW 9.6
I can't do anything serious with it :(

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby shaun_michael » Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:39 pm

I have tried it in some small situations, but no seriously yet. Can you be more specific about the problems you're having?

Shaun

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby shaun_michael » Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 pm

I haven't had any unexpected crashes yet and I've been able to bring in bin sequences, export LW Particles (although this is a little flaky when choosing what "type" of particles you want LW particles to be inside of RF - getting some notes together to send to Next Limit). Haven't tried importing sd file for rigid body sim yet as I've been away for a couple of days.

Anyway, can you list your issues, I'll test those issues on my 64bit system, and then we can send some notes away if these problems are reproducible. By the way, I'm not using the LW v9.6 release version, I'm using the latest beta version of the LWHC version.

Shaun

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby shaun_michael » Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:13 pm

I contacted Next Limit yesterday regarding the missing 32bit plugin and a couple of other issues. It would be really helpful if you could let me know what your problems are as NL are very keen to ensure all their connectivity plugins are rock solid.

Shaun

shaun_michael
Posts: 4766
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:04 am

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby shaun_michael » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:20 am

Quick update:-

The 32 bit plugin isn't released just yet, so the only plugin available in the windows installer is the 64bit plugin, despite what it says when you try to install on a 32bit machine.

I've no doubt Next Limit will update their News section once the 32bit LW plugin is available.

Shaun

vbk!!!
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:59 am
Contact:

New Lightwave 9.6 plugin [Updated 11 Jan 2010]

Postby vbk!!! » Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:38 pm

hello hello

I just tried with LW_HC 64 Bit.
Same thing.
Unable to use properly the mesh sequencer in the displacement tab.
My Lightwave crash when I slide the timeline ...
And the coordinate and scale of the object seems to be wrong ...

I will try to make other test .

++


Return to “Lightwave”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest