car skidding through puddle

Discussions about the use of Realflow 3
mrotman

Postby mrotman » Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:01 pm

hey everyone,

this is my first post, although ive been using RF for a few years. my question pertains mostly to internal and external pressure settings. Shaun Michael suggests having a very low internal pressure for water. While this may work well in a confined glass of water, im not sure it works so well in a widespread puddle. The fluid seems to separate and bead up like mercury, even at very high resolutions (500 at a scene scale of 1.0). Are there any general rules to follow if we are dealing with splashing in shallow ponds or puddles as opposed to a glass of water being poured?

shaun_michael

Postby shaun_michael » Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:34 pm

Hi,

Thanks for joining in the "discussion".

My feelings about internal pressure are such that a significantly lower internal pressure than external will enable your particles to sit closer together. This works for contained and uncontained fluid. What you may be experiencing is a combination of other factors such as the lack of friction on your surfaces, or overly high surface tension.

One of the downsides of low pressure settings is that the lower they get the more lilke dumb particles the particles behave, and can sometimes lack a bit of "life".

Surface water needs to be treated in a similar way in my experience. You still want your particles to sit closely to one another so that you can mesh with good detail. Puddles generally congregate in depressions on surfaces, but for depressions or just sitting water held together by surface tension you're still going to want friction to stop your particles continuously drifting apart (and probably beading as you suggest it does).

Friction will help back the fluid up so that it doesn't thin-out too much and also rid your sim of that "sliding" appearance - the default friction isn't enough.