Page 1 of 2

BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 5:44 am
by octavio
Hi,


i am trying to export a mesh sequence out of max, done from RF particles and meshed in FROST, to maya.

prefereably out as BIN mesh files, the real flow max plugin has a export BIN mesh files, as a sequence it seems. But it doesnt work.


does anyone know if this BIN mesh exporter has ever worked> or how can i get it to work?

i need to get this fluid mesh in to maya from max...

thanks in advance

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:05 pm
by octavio
i hear crickets....

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:24 am
by eudatm
Can you give more details? How are you doing the BIN export exactly? Here it works ok.

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:29 am
by octavio
hmmmm....you are right.


its working now, beofre i was trying to get a BIN mesh out of Frost in max, and it wasnt working.

adding a 'turn to poly' on top of the frost object does the trick

all good now!! :D :D :D

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:18 pm
by dougmcfly
You put a edit poly modifier on the top of the frost?

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:01 pm
by dougmcfly
Hi!

I´m trying to export a mesh done in the frost from a very dense particle sequence imported from RF!!

But when maya load the .bin files, I receive an error: "Invalid BIN file".

I tried to use the Turn to Poly modifier, but doesn´t work!!

Can anyone help-me with some tips???

Thanks!!!

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:59 pm
by spigigombos
Hi,
I have same problem as dougmcfly. Export from Max (2013, 2014) via Realflow's "Export BIN Mesh" (with Turn to Poly or without it) does not work giving "Invalid BIN file" error message when importing to Maya via Realflow's "Import BIN Mesh".

plugin versions:
FrostMX-1.3.5.50464
realflow_max_2013.0.6
realflow_maya_win_2013.0.1

Anyone has solution?
Thanks

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 2:41 pm
by ChristianZ
I have the impression that currently we don't have many 3dsmax users here reading…. Anyway, for reporting plugin bugs the official forum or the customer gateway feedback is probably
a better place to get noticed by nextlimit.

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 4:04 am
by sk9101
Hi all,
I seem to have found a way that works.

Pick a stationary object with frost, in addition to your particles etc that you were originally going to export (the extra stationary object can be a sphere in corner that is out of the way). Then put a turn to poly modifier on the frost object, and send out as bin files as per normal.

Works for me!

Re: BIN mesh export from max?

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:48 am
by spigigombos
Thanks for your reply,
another solution I found is using Krakatoa PRT Loader for loading RF particles, adding "Turn to Poly" modifier to Frost object and exporting by Realflow's "Export BIN Mesh" icon.

Cheers