Page 1 of 1

Is there a way to tell what version of Maxwell comes with Realflow?

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:26 pm
by Bobross
I'm currently testing RF 10.1.2.162. What version of Maxwell does it come with? 4.1.1.1? 4.1.0.3? 4.0.1.1? Is there a way to tell?

Re: Is there a way to tell what version of Maxwell comes with Realflow?

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:28 am
by ChristianZ
Hi

I don't know. But... does it really matter? If you would like to know what Maxwell can do, best would be to download the demo at the Maxwellrender website.
Also have a look at this topic viewtopic.php?f=19&t=11423

Re: Is there a way to tell what version of Maxwell comes with Realflow?

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:58 am
by tsn
In RealFlow you have Maxwell 3, but I also don't know the exact version. Maxwell 4 is simply not ready for being implemented in RF: particle instancing, refraction, and layered materials don't work with the GPU, and GPU for macOS is still in Beta. Besides the half-baked support of GPUs you'll find exactly 0.0 improvement in Maxwell. The CPU engine in 4 is exactly the same as in Maxwell 3.

Re: Is there a way to tell what version of Maxwell comes with Realflow?

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:34 pm
by Bobross
ChristianZ wrote:Hi

I don't know. But... does it really matter? If you would like to know what Maxwell can do, best would be to download the demo at the Maxwellrender website.
Also have a look at this topic viewtopic.php?f=19&t=11423


I'm just wondering for compatibility reasons. I know what Maxwell can do, been using it since pre-alpha :)

tsn wrote:In RealFlow you have Maxwell 3, but I also don't know the exact version. Maxwell 4 is simply not ready for being implemented in RF: particle instancing, refraction, and layered materials don't work with the GPU, and GPU for macOS is still in Beta. Besides the half-baked support of GPUs you'll find exactly 0.0 improvement in Maxwell. The CPU engine in 4 is exactly the same as in Maxwell 3.


Thanks for the info!