The river rhone

General Discussions about realflow, fluid simulations,...
Spiralstaircase

The river rhone

Postby Spiralstaircase » Fri Jul 14, 2017 8:13 pm

Hi all

I'm new to RF

How would it be best to set up a sim for the surface of a large river like the Rhone (as seen in Lyon) - it's a wide deep river with not much large turbulence but a constant flow with lots of small ripples?

In some areas of the water there are circular vortexes which the main current moves around.

Is this something for realwave surface?

Thanks

P

ChristianZ

Re: The river rhone

Postby ChristianZ » Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:26 am

Hi

I would suggest to split this project and use different mechanisms for different shots. If you have a wide shot where you see the river from the air, zooming on the surface, I would use realwave which is by far the fastest method to simulate. You can use a standard realwave surface or custom-shaped object.
Then, for close-up shots, if there are rocks inside the water or rapids with turbulence and foam, use the hybrido system. We had a couple of examples here on the forum already where people simulated tsunamis, waterfalls and such things. The "ocean force" daemon creates waves or you let the particles follow gravity.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

Spiralstaircase

Postby Spiralstaircase » Sat Jul 15, 2017 4:48 pm

ChristianZ wrote:Hi

I would suggest to split this project and use different mechanisms for different shots. If you have a wide shot where you see the river from the air, zooming on the surface, I would use realwave which is by far the fastest method to simulate. You can use a standard realwave surface or custom-shaped object.