Issue when emitting

General Discussions about realflow, fluid simulations,...
markjohns
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:03 am

Issue when emitting

Postby markjohns » Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:49 pm

I'm having problems with Dyverso emitters. I'm not sure if I'd get the same thing with other fluid types.

If I lock the timeline, or unlock it and don't export the particles in export central, everything is fine. However, as soon as I set the particle to export, they behave very differently.

The simulate but don't emit properly. It's as if they have a large surface tension.

Anyone know how I can fix this because it's quite important to be able to export the particles. :roll:

Thanks


User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3278
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: Issue when emitting

Postby ChristianZ » Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:06 pm

Hi

I have not seen such a problem here. Do you use the very latest version of RF? The Dyverso particles still have some limitations compared to the other particle types, so there are fixes in every new version.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

markjohns
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:03 am

Re: Issue when emitting

Postby markjohns » Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:35 pm

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I'm using the latest version.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FacOJj8 ... e=youtu.be

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3278
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: Issue when emitting

Postby ChristianZ » Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:50 pm

Thanks for the screencast.
Yep, that is strange. Looks almost as sub steps are changed with the export. I will have a little test with the Dyverso tomorrow.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

markjohns
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:03 am

Re: Issue when emitting

Postby markjohns » Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:55 pm

I've just found the cause. I unticked 'use CUDA GPU' and it's now working fine. It seems to be anyway.

I have a geforce gtx 980m and that supports CUDA

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3278
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: Issue when emitting

Postby ChristianZ » Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:58 pm

Glad that you found a reason for it, or at least the buggy part of the program. I looked at some other setups for making splashes and sometimes emission did not progress.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest