Scale

General Discussions about realflow, fluid simulations,...
markjohns

Scale

Postby markjohns » Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:14 am

Hi. I'm very new to Real Flow and have a question about scale.

Maya's default scale is cm.

In work, we set Maya & Max to meters.

Real Flow's default scale is meter. However, if I create a cube in Maya (using meter scale) and bring it into Real Flow, the cube is huge. It surrounds the whole grid.

If I set Maya to cm and export the cube, the cube is one unit square in size in Real Flow. Can someone explain why this is? If Real Flow works in meters and Maya is set to meters, shouldn't the cube come in as 1 unit in size?

I don't want to change the way we work in Maya and Max because of this so can someone tell me another option?

If I bring in a 1m cube from Maya (using meter scale), setting the geometry scale in scale options to 0.01 (1cm = 0.01m) brings the cube to the correct size.

Should I also bring the other scales (daemons etc) down to 0.01 ?

I set this using the scale options at the bottom right or Real Flow. In File > Preferences, you can't set them to 0.01, only 0.1.

Any help with this would be great.

Thanks

Forester

Re: Scale

Postby Forester » Sun Jul 03, 2016 11:48 pm

Hi, a Maya-Realflower here....

Yes, the scales for Maya and in Realflow are NOT directly equivalent.

In general, the Autodesk advice is to use the default cm for Maya. But if you are also using MAX, you may have good reasons to set both Maya and MAX to meters, as you point out. Particularly if you are making models "to scale" and working back and forth between Max and Maya.