Realflow mesh to polygons

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Autodesk Maya
mmarinheiro
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 6:04 pm

Realflow mesh to polygons

Postby mmarinheiro » Mon May 21, 2012 12:17 pm

Hello,

Is there any way to convert the realflowmesh imported to maya to polygons or something else usable for rendering in 3rd party machines that DO NOT have the rf plugin installed? I read online that I could use the .obj output from realflow and load it in maya using an obj sequence loader but I could not find any for maya 2012.. Any ideas? Thx in advance


fkfx
Posts: 309
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:11 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Realflow mesh to polygons

Postby fkfx » Mon May 21, 2012 3:35 pm

You can easily script something in MEL that imports a different OBJ for every frame. But honestly, working with the RF plugin is much easier and the plugin is free.

mmarinheiro
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Realflow mesh to polygons

Postby mmarinheiro » Mon May 21, 2012 4:06 pm

Thank you for your reply fkfx

I did uncover some scripts online but as I am not very keen on programming haven't been able to make them work. The objective of not using the plugin is to be able to render on remote machines that I have no control of the plugins installed (remote renderfarms and so). Also it would be useful to not be forced to carry the mesh files around everytime.

Well thanks anyway for your time, recentely it's the second time you reply to one of my posts, I hope some time I can be helpful as well

Take care

fkfx
Posts: 309
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:11 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Realflow mesh to polygons

Postby fkfx » Mon May 21, 2012 4:37 pm

When not using the plugins, you could get in trouble with rendering motion blur etc.

frescalus
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 11:26 pm

Re: Realflow mesh to polygons

Postby frescalus » Mon May 21, 2012 8:16 pm

If you're using remote renderfarms and paying for them, you can use amazon's EC2 http://aws.amazon.com
you can install maya and the rf plugins, the only thing you can't do ( as far as I can find ) is use RFRK plugin b/c of licensing, I already tried
-----Neil
http://www.kirbyfx.com
http://www.vimeo.com/kirbyfx
System: i7-3930k, Quadro K4000, 32GB RAM, Win7-Ult

mmarinheiro
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Realflow mesh to polygons

Postby mmarinheiro » Wed May 23, 2012 2:01 am

Thanks for the tip frescalus! I ll check on to it and will post on progress but at first glance the problem remains, mesh files are heavy to carry around back and forth..


Return to “Autodesk Maya”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests