Mental Ray motion blur

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Autodesk Maya
apoc519
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:56 am

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby apoc519 » Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:58 am

does motion blur work in mental ray for maya? It always just aborts on me.

thanks


User avatar
Herbert
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:19 pm
Contact:

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby Herbert » Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:47 am

Do you mean Motionblur in combination with Realflow?

apoc519
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:56 am

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby apoc519 » Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:59 am

correct.

I'm using version 3 if that makes any difference and NOT the most recent plug-in. I was afraid the new plug-in might not work with the v3 bin files

User avatar
Herbert
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:19 pm
Contact:

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby Herbert » Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:08 am

What mentalray motion blur settings do you use?
Can you describe it a little bit?

apoc519
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:56 am

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby apoc519 » Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:18 am

I've tried everything. Linear and transformation blur modes. Every shutter and offset setting I can think of. Different memory settings because I thought maybe it was just crashing out.

It's definately got the velocity info because I can do a 3D blur in maya software render just fine.

Is blur even supported in mental ray? Or is it just a problem with my setup?

User avatar
Herbert
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:19 pm
Contact:

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby Herbert » Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:37 am

It should work - because its just a normal mesh.
Do you get any message in the script editor when maya crashes?

apoc519
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:56 am

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby apoc519 » Mon Sep 11, 2006 9:09 am

Nothing too helpful. Although I can't find the log they mention. I did a second test with a simpler scene and had the same problem

mental ray has stopped with errors, see the log
mental ray aborted

User avatar
katisss
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:22 pm
Contact:

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby katisss » Mon Sep 11, 2006 9:26 am

If you are familar with the lm_2dmv motion vector blur shader (you need realsmart pluigins) i'd use that. I already did that and it worked.
Another free option is maya vectorblur, keeping the vectors (render without ray tracing etc.) and apply it with this utility to your mental ray beauty pass.
http://www.lo-motion.de

User avatar
crissy
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:47 pm
Contact:

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby crissy » Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:02 am

another appendage can be:
The texture mapping u create during the mesh process...
The UVW mapping.
You can choice mapping by UV per particle, by speed, pressure etc.

And then there is a "Speed info" attribute!

Without this info there will be no motion blur information included in the mesh files and the plugins will not be able to produce motion blur.
take YES...

maybe this helps...

greats
cRiSsy
Christian Laskawi - Senior 3D Artist
www.gradientfx.com
- my projects blog: www.crissy.de

User avatar
katisss
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:22 pm
Contact:

Mental Ray motion blur

Postby katisss » Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:13 am

right, the automatic uv mapping is an annoying one.
Is there any application for that: uvs per frame?
Took me forever to find out, thanks for pointing out.
http://www.lo-motion.de


Return to “Autodesk Maya”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests