Page 1 of 1

"Mix" two different fluids/shaders in Arnold?

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:40 pm
by Glowbeard
Hi there.

In the past I'd use the melt shader, and there was even talk about using RFRK (Never used it before but it's been discontinued)... but now... now what? I'm on Realflow 10.1, Maya 2017, and MtoA 2.0.1.1...

I have the simple task of mixing two paints. I've done the sim, exported myself the mesh bin files, pulled it into Maya and now I'm stuck. I've got as far as a mix shader in Arnold but nothing to drive the mix channel. I feel like I'm visiting an old city that has completely changed.

Thanks!

Re: "Mix" two different fluids/shaders in Arnold?

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:35 pm
by ChristianZ
Hi

maybe ask directly Jorge Medina. He has made this setup with the render kit and wrote that he wants to apply it to other render engines:
https://rfwisdom.com/2015/06/03/mixing- ... renderkit/

Re: "Mix" two different fluids/shaders in Arnold?

Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:29 am
by Glowbeard
Thanks! That does look like a solution but I'm not getting ANY data out of my mesh.

I'm trying to call velocity (Because that's a known value already) just to be able to SEE something. But I'm getting nothing.

When doing a stitched Alembic however I see this at the bottom:

Image

I've tried using the userData nodes to call SOMETHING but it all comes out black.

Image

Re: "Mix" two different fluids/shaders in Arnold?

Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:11 am
by Glowbeard
That looks like a possible solution.

But I think my problem is deeper, I'm not getting ANY data to display. I tried calling velocity, density, weights, everything renders black.

Image

I did find this at the bottom of my alembic import but I'm not getting anything out of it either (Export vertex colours is checked):

Image

Re: "Mix" two different fluids/shaders in Arnold?

Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:39 am
by ChristianZ
Currently I cannot see the screenshots you posted. You can share pictures on dropbox, but I think you have to generate a link for sharing, not just the URL of the picture.

Re: "Mix" two different fluids/shaders in Arnold?

Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:02 am
by Glowbeard
Sorry for posting twice! I didn't read when it said it was waiting for moderation.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/z9t3w21rbvoazy8/AADSBeYNgSO3l0Pb0y1xEev9a?dl=0

My two pictures are there.

Do you know how I would call data from the bin file in Maya or where I can see what the channel names are? I pulled the bin files into Max and the vertex colours definitely DO work.

Re: "Mix" two different fluids/shaders in Arnold?

Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:30 pm
by ChristianZ
If you asked me, sorry, I don't use Arnold in Maya.
In Cinema4D I was able to use the melt shader with the render kit at the time, but the results of the melt shader were not terribly convincing. If I had to mix for example coffee and cream, I would use a smoke/fire fluid simulation that provides high quality volumetric effects.

Re: "Mix" two different fluids/shaders in Arnold?

Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:13 am
by Glowbeard
Thanks ChristianZ.

I'll have to keep asking around. I'm hitting a wall here. For now I'm meshing the liquids separately, not ideal but it's progress.