direct connect Only nucleus?

Discussions about the use of Realflow in Autodesk Maya
User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: direct connect Only nucleus?

Postby ChristianZ » Thu Sep 29, 2016 7:15 am

I need more time over the weekend to look at the particle shading. Have mainly used Krakatoa for such a task and that has its own particle file format written by RF. Arnold is known for dealing well with large amounts of data, yes, but motion graphing people are currently more into GPU-based renderers. And then theres is Vray, and many more.....
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM


User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: direct connect Only nucleus?

Postby ChristianZ » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:12 pm

Maybe I have found a reason why the temperature channel was empty in your test: temperature is probably only thought to matter with gas particles. Daemons like the "heater daemon" work only with gas particles. So, I made a sim with gas and changing temperature as shown by the color of the particles.
https://youtu.be/1K4z9PWW8vg
Later, I will import that in Maya and see what I get.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

joelnberg
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 9:42 pm

Re: direct connect Only nucleus?

Postby joelnberg » Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:48 pm

So can you give a basic estimate to when Maya Connect 2017 will release? I have a project waiting to start, but am trying to make a decision whether to do in Maya 2016 Arnold instead.

And is it likely that RF Connect 2017 will have the new Arnold as well?

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: direct connect Only nucleus?

Postby ChristianZ » Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:27 pm

Next limit told me that they are aware of the problem of the missing Renderkit in Maya2017 and that they are looking at different options.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

ytsejam
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: direct connect Only nucleus?

Postby ytsejam » Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:28 pm

Hi @ChristianZ
The new realflow 10 is out but the connection plugin is only to maya 2016.5 if mental ray is there. Whats the hell to this? ANy news?

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: direct connect Only nucleus?

Postby ChristianZ » Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:39 pm

No, no new information.

But the files are just arriving at the customer portal, it seems. Yesterday, the the connectivity plugins were not yet online. Still, I cannot read the release notes at the moment.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: direct connect Only nucleus?

Postby ChristianZ » Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:24 pm

The MentalRay render engine is back to Maya2017
http://www.nvidia.com/object/download-mental-ray.html
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM

User avatar
ChristianZ
Posts: 3257
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:37 am
Location: CH

Re: direct connect Only nucleus?

Postby ChristianZ » Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:58 pm

A new version of the RFconnect plugin for Maya and another one for 3DSMax are now available at the Nextlimit Customer Gateway.

By the way, the renderkint-plugins are no longer updated, no render kit anymore.
RF10 standard, System specs: OSX 10.11, MacPro 4.1 2xXeon, GTX980Ti, 64 GB RAM


Return to “Autodesk Maya”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest